Altered Confusion™

The Place For Game Reviews and Comics

Archive for March 13th, 2008

Facing the Dream

Posted by Altered Confusion on March 13, 2008

I’m a programmer with dreams of creating games mostly RPGs. I have the desire to do something with my passions videogames, movies, anime, and sports. I want to make a web comic, I know that I’m not the best artist in the world, but I’m willing to work at it. I want to write reviews about my passions, I know I’m not the best person with grammar, but I feel that it is the content not the sentence fragments that people would like to think about.

I’m so serious about this that I’m looking into creating my own company. It might not be my main job, but I’m willing to make it work. I want to write reviews, probably for video games seeing as that’s what I’m in the industry for, and also create a weekly web comic. I want to establish what I can do and then maybe branching into game creation, game production, and maybe some other stuff.

I’ve got three main sets of role models right now, Penny Arcade, Ctrl+Alt+Del, and GiantBomb.com. These guys have in some shape or fashion done what I want to do, and I hope that I can get close to what they have accomplished if not surpass some of them in certain aspects.

The one thing that I’m really going to have to work at is web creation, that is something that I’ve lightly dabbled into, and I feel that I’m going to have to get a bit better to really put out a site that people are going to find appeasing.

Right now I’m watching the GA Tech/Virginia game on ESPN2, I’m cheering for the Jackets, not only because it would be the thing to not get my disowned from my girlfriend’s family, but also because it is the right team to cheer for when it comes to cheering for the state you live in.

I’ve been watching the ESPN bracketology like a hawk, and I have to say that I’m still not sold on Lunardi’s view of things, to be honest I’m never really sold on his view. I think that he gives too much credit to the perennials, and not enough to those teams that can surprise those teams. I know that the committee who picks what the seeds are are going to see his point of view over mine, but that’s cool. I know what to look for.

I think the hardest thing about trying to actually think about forming a business is forming a business plan, finding who I can get to invest, and also who I can hire on to get things working at a better clip. I think I’m going to have to start solo and once I get a head of steam branch out with the help of others.

My sister has been, and hopefully will continue to be my legal council as I try to do this. She a brilliant person, and once she takes and then passes her bar exam I hope that she’ll give me her time for cheap. She’s really helped get some of the legal stuff dumbed down to my level so that I can have a better idea of what it is going to take and what I can and cannot do.

Well I’m going to go back to watching the game and give it the attention that it deserves. I am however going to start trying to get my stuff together, and we’ll see what happens. *Cross Fingers*

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »